Invest in Cumbria
Map of Cumbria Boroughs Carlise Allerdale Copeland Barrow-in-Furness South Lakeland Eden

District Profiler


Cumbria comprises six administrative districts, all created in 1974.

The below table provides some useful headline figures for businesses looking to invest in Cumbria, and, by using the map opposite, for each of its six district areas.

This district profiler aims to give a brief picture of the economic landscape in Cumbria. More detailed statistics can be found under the Economy section of the Cumbria Intelligence Observatory website

Population (2009) 495,000
Working Age Population (2009) 304,176
Employment (2009) 225,179
JSA Claimants (Nov 2009) 7,485
Mean Full Time Earnings £25,220
VAT/PAYE Enterprises 26,375
Available Employment Land (2009) (hectares) 398.7
Mean House Price (2nd qtr 2010) £171,445